The Occupation

Thank you everyone, your good wishes worked. David and Stacey retained their title. Now my nerves have settled (well almost) and we have Christmas to look forward to I can get back to the business of writing instead of worrying. Well perhaps….

 

It’s been a roller-coaster couple of weeks. Our lives are always thrown into chaos when my son comes home but this year was even busier, perhaps it’s because we are living under a state of occupation. My parents sold their home (of 30 years) in the south and moved north in the summer. The plan had been that they live in the flat my daughter and her family had just vacated but mum and dad found that was just big enough to store their belongings (they were supposed to downsize). With barely a blink they announced they would have to live with us until they found something suitable. And they have found something suitable – in the next village – but they haven’t moved in yet.

 

During the subsequent occupation I have come to the conclusion I have an overdeveloped need for privacy. Mum and dad are great, they do the washing and ironing, organise meals, play hide and seek with the great grandsons and generally make life brighter. However…their occupation has been a disaster for my creativity. Or more precisely for my ability to write.

 

I like my peace and quiet. I have my own workspace where I spend part of my day writing. I can do that because I am grown up now and don’t have to ask mum’s permission to do anything anymore. But after half an hour mum always comes in with a cup of coffee and gives me a look that I know means she doesn’t consider someone sitting down in front of a computer during daylight hours to be employed in doing anything commendable. So I feel guilty. And that isn’t a good state of mind for a middle aged writer.

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Occupation

  1. When you have been used to privacy and time/space for creativity then it’s hard to be deprived of that. You will feel marvellous when you get back to having writing time – that’s if you can ignore the ironing pile. :-0

  2. I know what you mean. When you have a parent in your home the old feelings of being duty bound to conform to their expectations resurface. I must remind myself of this when our sons come to stay with us……but easier said than done!.

    • My nan used to say you can never give up being a parent but I’ve only recently realised how much that is true. When Sam leaves me with the boys I get warnings about what I can and can’t feed them! Then my parents do exactly what I can’t because they are great grandparents and Sam daren’t tell them off, so I have to.

Leave a Reply

